Why Your Pillow is Equally Important as Your Mattress

It seems that every commercial break brings another ad for a newer, fancier, and invariably more expensive mattress. But with all of the talk about coils, springs, heat, massage, and reclining, people tend to forget that their pillows are just as important. Bar none, the best way to improve your night’s sleep is to insure that your pillow is cool, supportive, and properly elevated, and memory foam pillows meet those criteria to a “T.” They tend to be nice and firm, and their contours help align your spine correctly, which helps you sleep better.

pillow-and-mattress-2

Whether you use a pillow made of memory foam, or a more traditional down or feather pillow, keeping your head properly elevated makes a world of difference. I just got married a few months ago, and at first my wife was waking me up two or three times a night because my snoring was driving her crazy. I thought about a new bed, but after I did some research, I tried sleeping on my side with two pillows instead of the one I used to use. She loves the fact that my snoring is greatly reduced, and I love the fact that I’m not getting jabbed in the ribs every couple of hours. We are both sleeping much better. I find that a memory foam pillow on top of a down pillow gives me the best of both worlds.

pillow-and-mattress

For my money, I don’t think there is a better feeling in the world than laying one’s head on a cool pillow. Memory foam pillows are dense enough to support your head without compacting, but are light and allow air to circulate, which keeps your head cool. And the great part about memory foam pillows is that they are a really inexpensive way to see a huge difference in your quality of sleep. A new mattress can cost thousands of pounds, while even top of the line memory foam pillows cost just a fraction of that. With today’s economy, there really is no more cost effective way to improve your sleep than with new memory foam pillows. When I travel, I always bring my own pillow, and I have found that I’m able to sleep pretty well no matter where I find myself. Considering some of the less than desirable hotel mattresses I’ve slept on, it makes you wonder if those expensive mattresses are really worth their premium prices.

Leave a Reply

